Shoplifting In Virginia

If you are being charged with shoplifting, you may be confused as to the legal process and what the charges will entail. Here are some things that you should know about shoplifting in Virginia.

A simple charge of shoplifting is far from being a slam-dunk case for the prosecutor if the accused is ably defended. Before being granted a conviction, the prosecutor must prove beyond reasonable doubt that the accused took the property without the owner’s consent, and that the defendant actually carried out the the crime of which he or she was accused– not an altogether easy thing to do.

The definition of shoplifting, in addition to the obvious act of acquiring merchandise without paying for it, can include altering price tags on merchandise, disarming alarm tags, transferring merchandise to a different container, charging merchandise to unaware or fictitious people, or passing along tips on how to shoplift to someone else. If the goods in question have a total value of less than $200 dollars, you can be charged with petit larceny. If the value exceeds $200 dollars, that becomes grand larceny, often classified as a felony.

Furthermore, merchants can recover a civil judgment against anyone who shoplifts from them, ranging from a minimum of $50 dollars to twice the unpaid retail value of the merchandise. A merchant could demand such repayment in exchange for refraining from pursuing criminal action.

As you can see, many aspects of the case can affect the proceedings and the potential penalties. If you are facing this situation, Faraji Rosenthall offers free consultations to discuss the matter. Simply call (703) 934-0101 where we will happily discuss your case, either face to face or over the phone. We have three offices to serve you in Fairfax, Manassas and Alexandria VA.

Domestic Violence In Virginia

Domestic violence is a very serious crime and is very tragic for all those involved. There are often a great number of misconceptions as to the nature of domestic violence and its participants. Below are some statistics of the the reported incidences of domestic violence in Virginia.

It is, however, important to note that a large number of domestic violence is never reported to the police, and hence cannot be included in these statistics. In particular, sexual domestic violence is rarely brought to the attention of authorities. A recent national study suggests that 41% of nonfatal violent incidents between family members and 45% of nonfatal violent incidences between boyfriends or girlfriends did not get reported to the police.

In Virginia, from 2006-2010, of the reported domestic violence incidences domestic violence victims were half of all simple assault victims, 40% of kidnapping or abduction victims, and 3 out of 10 sexual assault victims.

Victims of domestic violence are considerably more varied than that of popular opinion. Although 7 out of 10 victims were women, during the time period of the study, the number of male victims increased by 17%, and domestic violence against the elderly increased more than for any other age group.

Perhaps most chilling, 76% of all victims of domestic sexual assault were under the age of 18. Recall that sexual domestic violence is the most underreported crime in this category.

Domestic violence is a blight upon society because it is a crime from family against family, loved one against loved one.

Victims of domestic violence have the option of seeking civil redress in addition to the criminal charges the prosecutor may choose to lay. If you are the victim of Domestic Violence or have been charged with Domestic Violence, call the Law Offices of Faraji Rosenthall (703) 934-0101.