Charged With Possession With Intent To Distribute (PWID)?

if you have been charged with Possession With Intent To Distribute (PWID) any of the following drugs:

  • Marijuana
  • Cocaine
  • Crack
  • Heroin
  • PCP
  • Methamphetamine
  • Cathinone
  • Ecstasy
  • LSD
  • Psilocybin (a.k.a. mushrooms)

or another controlled substances under Virginia Code: 18.2-248, 18.2-248.1, 18.2-248.03, you need an experienced Northern Virginia PWID Attorney, like former Fairfax County Prosecutor Faraji Rosenthall, who has handled hundreds of PWID cases in Fairfax, Alexandria, & Manassas VA.

PWID drug cases can be very complex because they typically deal  with circumstantial evidence. The most common circumstantial evidence used to prove PWID is “quantity” such as, possessing a large amount that would be inconsistent with personal use. Another circumstantial point would be the drug “packaging”, which would create the intent for a retail sale, not for personal use. There are other factors that can and will have an impact on your PWID drug case.

The penalty associated with a PWID conviction largely depends on the type of drug in possession and where it falls under the Virginia “Adopted Schedule” for illicit substances.

If the drug in possession was marijuana, the penalty can reach up to 30 years in prison. The maximum penalty for other drugs can range from 40 years to life in prison. The penalties associated with a PWID conviction can be very harsh. You are facing mandatory jail time in many cases, if you are convicted.

A conviction for a misdemeanor or felony drug possession or possession with intent to distribute (PWID) in Northern Virginia can have serious consequences on career and civil freedoms. Take these charges seriously. Call the Law Offices of Faraji Rosenthall for a free consultation to discuss your PWID Drug case with Faraji Rosenthall today. Mr Rosenthall is also an experienced Fairfax, Alexandria & Manassas DWI Lawyer.

Reckless Driving In Virginia

Reckless driving in Virginia is a serious offense and is classified as a Class 1 misdemeanor criminal charge in Virginia, which is the same classification as a Virginia DWI charge.  Reckless driving in Virginia is a criminal charge that may impact motorist insurance rates and can potentially impact security clearances for government contractors and Military and Law Enforcement personnel.

Reckless driving in Virginia penalties carries up to one year in jail, and/or up to $2,500 in fines.  Reckless driving carries the possibility of a suspension of driving privileges for up to 6 months. Reckless driving in Virginia also is a 6-point violation on your driving record.  Additionally, a conviction for Reckless Driving will stay on your record for 11 years.   Below are the reckless driving in Virginia violations and the number of years the conviction will stay on your record.

  • Reckless driving – speeding in excess of 80 mph (11 years)
  • Reckless driving – speeding 20 mph or more above the posted speed limit (11      years)
  • Reckless driving – racing (11 years)
  • Reckless driving – passing or overtaking an emergency vehicle (11 years)
  • Reckless driving – passing a school bus (11 years)
  • Reckless driving – passing on the crest of a hill (11 years)
  • Reckless driving – passing at a railroad crossing (11 years)
  • Reckless driving – passing two vehicles abreast (11 years)
  • Reckless driving – driving two vehicles abreast (11 years)
  • Reckless driving – driving too fast for conditions (11 years)
  • Reckless driving – failing to give a proper signal (11 years)
  • Reckless driving – faulty brakes/improper control (11 years)
  • Reckless driving – on parking lots, etc. (11 years)
  • Reckless driving – with an obstructed view (11 years)
  • Reckless driving – generally (11 years)

The Law Office Of Faraji Rosenthall has helped hundreds of defendants like you obtain proven results for reckless driving in Virginia cases. Contact us now for a free consultation.

The Facts About Drinking and Driving

Between the urban legends and the stories shared by acquaintances, Internet articles for other jurisdictions and an inability to read legalese, it can be nearly impossible for an individual to find out the facts about drinking and driving in the Fairfax, Alexandria and Manassas areas.

Back when I was a prosecutor for Fairfax County, I would see individuals who were unaware of or had misunderstood the particulars of the laws regarding DWI, and it cost them dearly in court because they did not retain legal counsel to handle these matters.

The necessity of ‘Mirandizing’ is a common misconception that leads individuals preparing for court dates to be overconfident and underprepared. People are often under the impression that an officer arresting them for a DWI must read them their Miranda rights, and that, if they did not, the case will be summarily dismissed. This is not at all true, in most cases.

In Virginia, there is a law, commonly known as the Implied Consent law, which means that everyone driving on Virginia’s public highways agrees to submit to a blood or breath test if they’re arrested for suspicion of drunken driving.

Because of this ‘agreement,’ the police are not required to read you the Miranda warning, and, similarly, are not required to grant you access to a lawyer before you take the breath test. This is one of the most misunderstood facts about drinking and driving.

It’s unfortunately true that a DWI charge is often a very expensive proposition. There’s a great deal of temptation to be ‘penny wise, pound foolish’ and attempt to argue one’s own case. But the trouble with that is that an able lawyer may be able to successfully mitigate your charges, and in the case of conviction minimize the risk of jail time and other life-altering consequences.

The crux of the matter is the perception that ‘lawyers aren’t cheap’ and that legal costs can quickly skyrocket out of control. It’s that fear that prevents individuals from doing the right thing by themselves and hiring a lawyer.

That’s why at The Law Office Of Faraji Rosenthall we have free consultations, so that individuals can have all the facts about drinking and driving before moving forward on these serious matters. Call today to schedule your free consultation and get a guaranteed price to handle your DWI case from an experienced Drunk Driving Attorney.